Golfer Login | Register



French Lick Resort Hosts The 2012 Big Ten Men's and Women's Golf Championships

Conference Championships held on the two top courses in Indiana April 27-29

French Lick Resort, located in southern Indiana, will host the Men's and Women's Big Ten Golf Championships April 27-29. This marks the first time that both the men and women will compete on a neutral site.

The men's tournament will be contested on the award winning Pete Dye course, and the women's tourney will be held nearby on the historic Donald Ross Course. Golfweek Magazine ranked the Dye course and Ross course No. 1 and 2 respectively in the state of Indiana.

The men's tournament will be a 72-hole event with 36-holes on the first day followed by 18-holes on days 2 and 3. The women's event will be 54-holes with 18-holes each day. Practice rounds are scheduled for April 26.

"We are very excited and honored to host one of the top college championships in the country and to be hosting these great players from the Big Ten Conference," said Dave Harner, director of golf at French Lick Resort. "Both courses will provide unique challenges for the players and the resort is the perfect setting to host such a prestigious championship for both men and women."

The Pete Dye course, which was named America's Best New Public Course in 2009 by Golf Digest and GOLF Magazine, was carefully carved on a dramatic hilltop offering a variety of elevation changes, rugged and dramatic terrain, narrow fairways and challenging bunkers. The historic Donald Ross course, which recently went through a $4.6 million restoration, is a parkland gem meandering up and down the rolling hills a few miles from the main resort.

Both courses have a history of hosting elite players and golf events. In 2010, the highly acclaimed Dye course hosted the PGA of America's Professional National Championship, won by Illinois Men's Golf Coach Mike Small. The Donald Ross course hosted the prestigious LPGA Championship in 1959 and 1960. In addition the Ross course also hosted the 1924 PGA Championship won by Walter Hagen. The Ross course will also be hosting the LPGA Legends in 2013.

French Lick Resort is the only resort in the world that combines the classic history of Donald Ross and the modern day design of the legendary Pete Dye. This combination is a wonderful opportunity for Big Ten teams to experience two of the best designers who ever shaped beautiful landscapes into golf courses.

French Lick Resort offers special lodging rates for Big Ten Championships

French Lick Resort is offering a special room rate for parents, fans, and alumni attending the premier collegiate event, which are now available for booking. The resort is offering a special room rate of $149 at the beautiful French Lick Springs Hotel. Simply mention that you are attending the Big Ten Golf Championships to receive the discounted rate.

Since the inception of the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships in 1920, 11 different teams have taken home a conference title. Ohio State leads the conference with 23 titles, followed by Michigan and Purdue with 12 each. The Buckeyes are one of seven teams to win a Big Ten Women's Golf Championships title, claiming 11 since the first event in 1982. Illinois has taken the last three men's crowns, while Michigan State is the defending women's champion.

For more information or to book your room for the Big Ten Championships, please visit or call (888) 936-9360.


Posted March 7, 2012 || Viewed 3,579 times

Get Social

facebook   twitter   pinterest   youtube   RSS  

Free Newsletter


  is a golf directory featuring golf course directory and golf planning tools.

About  || Contact  || Privacy  || Terms 

Copyright CityCom Marketing, LLC - - All Rights Reserved.